According to legend, Borisoglebsky Monastery in Dmitrov was founded by Yuri Dolgoruky at about the same time as the city itself - in the middle of the XII century. However, the exact date of the founding of the monastery is not known: in 1610, during the Time of Troubles for Russia, a fire that raged in the monastery walls destroyed the entire monastery archive.
The first documentary evidence that has survived to this day, contrary to tradition, relates the foundation of the monastery to a much later period - to the 15th century. This is evidenced by the white stone cross, set, according to the inscription on it, “on the Annunciation in 1462” and acquired by the brethren near the Alekseevsky side chapel of the Borisoglebsky cathedral’s monastery more than 400 years later. Now this shrine is located in the museum of local lore of Dmitrov.
Soon, in 1472, the monastery was already mentioned in the spiritual certificate of the specific Dmitrov prince Yuri Vasilyevich. Being princely, the monastery in the first period of its history has extensive patrimonial possessions and is completely dependent on the management and maintenance of the princes of Dmitrov and Moscow. It was at this time that the construction of the majestic stone cathedral in the name of Boris and Gleb (1537), created in the traditions of ancient Russian architecture and surprisingly reminiscent of the Church of the Intercession on the Nerl or the Transfiguration Cathedral in Pereslavl, should be attributed to the monastery.
In the second half of the 15th century, the monastery came under the control of archimandrites and was subordinated directly to the metropolitan and the Patriarch in spiritual affairs.
At the beginning of the 17th century, the tests of the Time of Troubles fell on the monastery, as, indeed, on the whole of Russia: in 1610, the Polish-Lithuanian gangs together with the Russian traitors ravaged Dmitrov and burned down the Borisoglebsky monastery. A rebirth from the ashes was not easy — only ten years later the monastery was completely rebuilt.
In 1652, by order of Tsar Alexei Mikhailovich, the Borisoglebsky Monastery was assigned to the Novgorod Bishop’s House and becomes the residence near Moscow of his “cunning” (closest) friend, Metropolitan Nikon of Novgorod, later the Patriarch of Russia.
In 1672, the monastery was badly damaged by fire. However, the monastery already had a lot of wealthy investors and benefactors, so the stone building went on very lively. So, by 1689 the monastery was surrounded by stone walls with towers that have survived to this day. It was during this period that the architectural ensemble of the monastery formed, which has survived to this day. At this time, the monastery was already assigned to the Zaikonospassky monastery in Moscow.
The eighteenth century little changed the architectural appearance of the monastery; but a lot has changed in his inner spiritual life, as, indeed, in the life of all Russian monasteries. The time of the Peter and then Catherine reforms was very difficult for the Russian Church. During this period of its history, the Borisoglebsky Dmitrov Monastery continues to carry out stone construction, but on a noticeably smaller scale, and its architectural appearance, which was formed in the 16th – 17th centuries, remains almost unchanged.
Unlike most other monasteries, until the end of the 19th century, a manuscript chronicle was kept in the Borisoglebsky monastery. At the turn of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, large restoration and repair work began again at the expense of the manufacturers in the monastery.
st. Minina, 4, Dmitrov, Moscow Region, Russia, 141800